1.3 مليون طفل فلسطيني يواجهون المخاطر عند عودتهم إلى المدرسة | مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الانسانية - الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة

1.3 مليون طفل فلسطيني يواجهون المخاطر عند عودتهم إلى المدرسة

بيان صادر عن منسقة الأمم المتحدة المقيمة ومنسقة الشؤون الإنسانية في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، لين هاستينغز

الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، 28 آب/أغسطس 2022 – يعود أكثر من 1.3 مليون طفل فلسطيني من الضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية، وقطاع غزة، إلى مدارسهم هذا الأسبوع. وهذه لحظة للترقُّب مع هذا العدد الكبير من الفتيات والفتية التوّاقين للتعلم والنماء.

ولكن الأطفال في الضفة الغربية وغزة يواجهون تحديات لا يتخيلها الكثير من أقرانهم في شتى أرجاء العالم. فمنذ مطلع هذا العام، قُتل 20 طفلًا في الضفة الغربية، بالمقارنة مع 12 قُتلوا خلال الفترة نفسها من العام الماضي. 
حاليًا، هناك 56 أمر هدم معلّق ضد مدارس يدرس فيها ما لا يقل عن 6,400 طفل في الضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية.

©UNICEF-SoP/LouLou d’Aki
©UNICEF-SoP/LouLou d’Aki

وفي النصف الأول من عام 2022، سجلت الأمم المتحدة 115 انتهاكا متعلقا بالتعليم في الضفة الغربية، بما في ذلك إطلاق الغاز المسيل للدموع بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر، والقنابل الصوتية، و/أو الرصاص المغلف بالمطاط، وترهيب الطلبة نتيجة وجود الجيش والمستوطنين في المدارس، والاعتقالات، والقيود المفروضة على التنقل التي تمنع الطلاب من الوصول إلى صفوفهم. ويؤثر ذلك على نحو 8,000 طالب وطالبة، مما يزيد من خطر تسربهم من المدارس.

وأودى التصعيد الأخير في غزة بحياة 17 طفلا. والمدارس مكتظة، حيث تعمل 65 في المائة من المدارس بنظام الفترتين. وتزيد الظروف التي يعيشها الأطفال في غزة، بما في ذلك الذين عاشوا أربع حالات تصعيد في الأعمال العدائية خلال حياتهم، من الحاجة إلى خدمات الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي المتخصصة.

وتسبَّب التصعيد الأخير في غزة في إزهاق أرواح 17 طفلًا. وتعمل 65 في المائة من المدارس المكتظة بنظام الفترتين. الأطفال في غزة بحاجة إلى خدمات الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي المتخصصة نتيجة ما عاصروه من أربع حالات تصعيد في الأعمال العدائية خلال حياتهم.

وعلى الرغم من العديد من التحديات القائمة فإن معدل الإلمام بالقراءة والكتابة بين الشباب يزيد عن 99 في المائة ويصل إلى 93.8 في المائة بين الأطفال الذين يتخرجون من المدارس الأساسية وينتقلون إلى التعليم الثانوي. ويملك الأطفال الفلسطينيون القدرة والدافعية للتعلم، والعمل معًا على تشكيل مسارات جديدة للتنمية لتغيير حياتهم. فهم قادة الغد. وعلينا أن نفعل المزيد لحمايتهم ودعمهم، لأن الأطفال يجب ألا يتعرضوا للعنف أو يستغلوا لأي غرض من الأغراض.

وتتمنى الأمم المتحدة لجميع الأطفال عامًا من النجاح والمرح، يحمي فيه الجميع حقهم الأساسي في التعليم. ولا نزال ملتزمين بحماية الأطفال من العنف ودعمهم لتحقيق إمكاناتهم.

1.3 million Palestinian children face risks as they go back to school | United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs - occupied Palestinian territory

1.3 million Palestinian children face risks as they go back to school

Statement of Lynn Hastings, United Nations Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator in the Occupied Palestinian Territory

Occupied Palestinian Territory, 28 August 2022 – This week, over 1.3 million Palestinian children from the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and the Gaza Strip will go back to school. It is a moment to anticipate, with so many girls and boys eager to learn and thrive.

But children in the West Bank and Gaza face challenges that many children across the world cannot imagine. Since the beginning of the year, 20 children were killed in the West Bank, compared to 12 during the same period last year. Currently, there are 56 outstanding demolition orders against schools where at least 6,400 children are taught in the West Bank including East Jerusalem.

©UNICEF-SoP/LouLou d’Aki
©UNICEF-SoP/LouLou d’Aki

In the first half of 2022 in the West Bank, the United Nations recorded 115 education-related violations including, direct or indirect firing of tear gas, stun grenades, and/or rubber-coated bullets, intimidating military and settler presences at schools, detentions, and movement restrictions preventing students from reaching their classes. Nearly 8,000 students have been impacted, increasing the risk they will drop out of school.

The latest escalation in Gaza claimed the lives of 17 children. Schools are overcrowded, with 65 per cent of schools operating on double shifts. The conditions in Gaza for children, including having lived through four escalations in hostilities during their lifetime, increase the need for specialized psychosocial support services.

Despite the many challenges faced, the youth literacy rate of Palestinians is over 99 per cent and 93.8 per cent of children graduating from primary school go on to a secondary education. Palestinian children hold in their hands the potential and drive to reimagine education, co-create new pathways for development, and transform their lives. They are tomorrow’s leaders. We must do more to protect and support them, as children must not be exposed to violence or exploited for any purpose.

The United Nations wishes all children a successful and fun-filled year where their fundamental right to education is protected and realized by all. We remain committed to protect children from violence and support them to fulfill their potential.