تقرير حماية المدنيّين | 2-15 آب/أغسطس 2022 | مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الانسانية - الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة

تقرير حماية المدنيّين | 2-15 آب/أغسطس 2022

آخر المستجدات (خارج فترة التقرير)

  • في 18 و19 آب/أغسطس، أُطلقت النار على رجلين فلسطينيين وقُتلا في حادثين منفصلين في مدينة نابلس وطوباس. وسيجري تناول كلا الحادثين في فترة التقرير المقبل.

  • في 18 آب/أغسطس، اقتحمت القوات الإسرائيلية مقرات سبع منظمات أهلية غير حكومية فلسطينية وأغلقتها في الضفة الغربية. وكانت حكومة إسرائيل قد صنفت هذه المنظمات باعتبارها «منظمات إرهابية» و/أو «غير قانونية» في العام 2021. انظر البيان الصادر عن وكالات الأمم المتحدة ورابطة الوكالات الإنمائية الدولية هنا.

أبرز أحداث الفترة التي يغطيها التقرير

 

  • تفاصيل تصعيد الأعمال القتالية التي شهدتها غزة وإسرائيل بين يومي 5 و7 آب/أغسطس متاحة في التقريرين الموجزين بالمستجدات رقم 1 ورقم 2. وخلال هذا التصعيد، قُتل 49 فلسطينيًا في قطاع غزة، من بينهم 22 مدنيًا على الأقل، منهم 17 طفلًا وأربع نساء وفقًا للمفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان. وأصيب 360 آخرون بجروح، من بينهم 151 طفلًا و58 امرأة وفقًا لوزارة الصحة المحلية. وحسب السلطات الإسرائيلية، أصيب ما مجموعه 70 إسرائيليًا. وأفادت نجمة داود الحمراء بأنها أخلت 47 إسرائيليًا إلى المستشفيات. وأصيب ثلاثة أشخاص بشظايا و31 شخصًا وهم يهرعون إلى الملاجئ و13 آخرين بالصدمة. 
  • في 2 آب/أغسطس، أطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية النار وقتلت فتى فلسطينيًا يبلغ من العمر 17 عامًا، ادعت حركة الجهاد الإسلامي أنه أحد منتسبيها، وأصابت آخريْن خلال اقتحام مخيم جنين للاجئين، حيث اعتقلت رجلين فلسطينيين، أحدهما مسؤول كبير في الحركة. وخلال هذه العملية، أفادت التقارير بوقوع تبادل لإطلاق النار مع مسلحين فلسطينيين، وأطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية الذخيرة الحية على السكان الذين ألقوا الحجارة والزجاجات الحارقة عليها. وفي وقت لاحق من ذلك اليوم، فرضت السلطات الإسرائيلية إغلاقًا كاملًا على حدودها مع غزة ومنعت حركة الأشخاص ونقل السلع الأساسية إليها ومنها إلى خارجها، بحجة المخاوف الأمنية. وفي 5 آب/أغسطس، شنت القوات الإسرائيلية غارة جوية محددة الهدف أسفرت عن مقتل أحد كبار مسؤولي حركة الجهاد الإسلامي في غزة. وتبع ذلك شن غارات إسرائيلية وإطلاق عشوائي للصواريخ باتجاه إسرائيل من جانب المجموعات المسلحة الفلسطينية، حيث تواصلت حتى دخول وقف إطلاق النار حيز النفاذ في الساعة 23:30 في 7 آب/أغسطس. 
  • أطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية النار وقتلت ثلاثة فلسطينيين، أحدهم فتى يبلغ من العمر 16 عامًا، وأصابت 89 آخرين، من بينهم 76 بالذخيرة الحية، خلال عملية عسكرية في نابلس. ففي 9 آب/أغسطس، اقتحمت القوات الإسرائيلية البلدة القديمة في نابلس وحاصرت بناية سكنية تحصن فيها رجلان (24 و27 عامًا) وأطلقت القذائف المتفجرة عليها. وقتل الرجلان ودمر منزلان ولحقت الأضرار بمنزل آخر، مما أدى إلى تهجير شخصين وإلحاق الضرر بخمسة آخرين. واستغرقت العملية مدة زادت عن ثلاث ساعات، حيث اندلعت خلالها مواجهات بين السكان الفلسطينيين والقوات الإسرائيلية في مواقع أخرى بمدينة نابلس، مما أسفر عن إصابة 89 فلسطينيًا، من بينهم 76 بالذخيرة الحية. وتوفي أحد المصابين بالذخيرة الحية، وهو فتى يبلغ من العمر 16 عامًا، متأثرًا بجروحه في أحد مستشفيات نابلس في وقت لاحق من ذلك اليوم. 
  • قتل فتى فلسطيني آخر يبلغ 16 عامًا من عمره وأصيب 110 آخرين، من بينهم 14 بالذخيرة الحية، عندما أطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية الذخيرة الحية وألقى الفلسطينيون الحجارة خلال مظاهرات اندلعت في شتى أرجاء الضفة الغربية احتجاجًا على العملية العسكرية في نابلس. ففي 9 آب/أغسطس، ألقى الفلسطينيون الحجارة قرب حاجز عسكري في مدينة الخليل وأطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية الذخيرة الحية عليهم، مما أدى إلى مقتل فتى يبلغ من العمر 16 عامًا. ووفقًا لشهود العيان، كان الفتى بعيدًا عن الحاجز ولم يكن من المحتمل أنه شكل أي تهديد. وبذلك، يرتفع عدد الأطفال الفلسطينيين الذين قتلوا في الضفة الغربية منذ مطلع العام 2022 إلى 20 طفلًا، من بينهم 18 قتلوا على يد القوات الإسرائيلية، بالمقارنة مع 17 طفلًا قتلوا خلال العام 2021 كله. وفي 11 آب/أغسطس، أعربت مفوضة الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان ميشيل باشيليت عن قلقها إزاء ارتفاع عدد الأطفال الفلسطينيين الذين قتلوا وأصيبوا في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة حتى الآن هذا العام. 
  • أطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية النار على رجل فلسطيني وقتلته وأصابت أربعة آخرين بالذخيرة الحية خلال عمليات تفتيش واعتقال في مختلف أنحاء الضفة الغربية. ففي 16 آب/أغسطس، أطلقت شرطة حرس الحدود الإسرائيلية النار على رجل فلسطيني يبلغ من العمر 21 عامًا وقتلته في منزله في حي كفر عقب بالقدس الشرقية. وقد اقتحمت القوات الإسرائيلية المنزل وأطلقت النار على الرجل في رأسه من مسافة قريبة أمام أسرته حينما كان يقف داخله. ووفقًا لما نقلته وسائل إعلام إسرائيلية عن القوات الإسرائيلية، أطلقت النار على الرجل عندما حاول أن يطعن أفراد من الشرطة الإسرائيلية، وهي رواية رفضتها أسرته. ودعا منسق الأمم المتحدة الخاص إلى إجراء تحقيق بشأن ظروف القتل المشكوك فيها. وخلال فترة التقرير، نفذت القوات الإسرائيلية ما مجموعه 141 عملية تفتيش واعتقال واعتقلت 204 فلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية. وسجلت محافظة الخليل أعلى نسبة من العمليات (44) والاعتقالات (70). وخلال ثلاث من هذه العمليات، ألقى الفلسطينيون الحجارة وأطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية الذخيرة الحية وقنابل الصوت، مما أدى إلى إصابة خمسة فلسطينيين، من بينهم أربعة بالذخيرة الحية. 
  • في الإجمال، أصيب 369 فلسطينيًا، من بينهم 42 طفلًا على الأقل، بجروح على يد القوات الإسرائيلية في شتى أرجاء الضفة الغربية، وهو ما يمثل زيادة قدرها 180 في المائة بالمقارنة مع فترة التقرير السابق. وسُجلت غالبية الإصابات (162) قرب بيت دجن (نابلس) وكفر قدوم (قلقيلية) في مظاهرات مناهضة للاستيطان. وأشارت التقارير إلى إصابة 110 آخرين قرب حاجز بيت إيل (رام الله)، وعلى مدخل مدينة أريحا، وعلى حاجز حوارة (نابلس) وعلى مداخل مدن طولكرم والخليل وبيت لحم خلال مظاهرات جرت احتجاجًا على العملية العسكرية في نابلس. وأصيب 95 فلسطينيًا آخرين خلال عملية عسكرية وثلاث عمليات تفتيش واعتقال (انظر أعلاه). وأفادت التقارير بإصابة فلسطينيين آخرين خلال عملية هدم في سلوان بالقدس الشرقية. ومن بين جميع المصابين الفلسطينيين البالغ عددهم 369 مصابًا، أصيب نحو 25 في المائة منهم بالذخيرة الحية. وهذا يمثل زيادة قدرها 20 في المائة بالمقارنة مع نسبة الإصابات بالذخيرة الحية بين كانون الثاني/يناير وتموز/يوليو 2022. ولا يجوز استخدام الأسلحة النارية إلا كملاذ أخير عند وجود خطر محدق يهدد بالموت أو بإصابة خطيرة. ويثير ارتفاع أعداد الوفيات والإصابات الخطيرة التي تسببها الذخيرة الحية/الأسلحة النار – على النحو المبين أعلاه – القلق إزاء احتمال استعمال القوة المفرطة التي ربما أسفرت عن عمليات قتل وإصابات غير مشروعة. 
  • هدمت السلطات الإسرائيلية 50 مبنى من مباني الفلسطينيين أو صادرتها أو أجبرت أصحابها على هدمها في القدس الشرقية والمنطقة (ج) بالضفة الغربية، بحجة افتقارها إلى رخص البناء التي تصدرها إسرائيل. وكان 12 مبنى من هذه المباني قد قدمت كمساعدات إنسانية ضمن مشاريع مولها المانحون. ونتيجة لذلك، هُجر 55 شخصًا، من بينهم 28 طفلًا، ولحقت الأضرار بسبل عيش نحو 220 آخرين. وكان 42 مبنى من تلك المباني يقع في المنطقة (ج)، بما فيها 13 مبنى هدم في تجمعين بدويين (أبو شوشة والزعيم) في المنطقة (ج) بمحافظة القدس. ويقع أحد هذين التجمعين داخل منطقة وُضعت المخططات لتوسيع مستوطنة معاليه أدوميم فيها (وهي منطقة E1)، وسكانه معرضون للترحيل القسري بسبب خطة طرحتها السلطات الإسرائيلية «لنقلهم» منه. وهدمت ثمانية مبانٍ أخرى في القدس الشرقية، بما فيها ثلاثة مبانٍ هدمها أصحابها بأنفسهم لتفادي دفع الغرامات.  
  • في 8 آب/أغسطس، اقتحمت القوات الإسرائيلية قرية رمانة (جنين) الواقعة في المنطقة (ب) وهدمت على أساس عقابي منزلين من طوابق متعددة ويعودان لعائلتين أدين أبناؤهما بقتل ثلاثة أشخاص وإصابة ثلاثة آخرين في إسرائيل في أيار/مايو 2022. وتضم العائلتان المهجرتان 13 فردًا، من بينهم أربعة أطفال، وتتألفان من ثلاث أسر معيشية. ومنذ مطلع العام 2022، هدمت عشرة منازل على أساس عقابي، بالمقارنة مع ثلاثة هدمت على مدار العام 2021 وستة في العام 2020. وتعد عمليات الهدم العقابية شكلًا من أشكال العقوبات الجماعية، وتنتفي الصفة القانونية عنها بموجب القانون الدولي لأنها تستهدف أسر منفذي هجمات أو منفذي هجمات مزعومة. 
  • تتعرض مدرستان شيدتا بتمويل من المانحين لخطر الهدم في جنوب الخليل ورام الله. ففي 3 آب/أغسطس، أصدرت الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية أمرًا نهائيًا بهدم غرفتين تشكلان جزءًا من مدرسة في منطقة شعب البطم جنوب الخليل. وقد شيدت هذه المدرسة في العام 2015 من خلال مشروع موله المانحون، وهي تخدم الأطفال من عدد كبير من التجمعات السكانية. وفي حادث آخر وقع في 10 آب/أغسطس، أصدرت محكمة إسرائيلية أمرًا يقضي بهدم مدرسة مولها المانحون على الفور في تجمع عين سامية الرعوي شمال شرق رام الله، مما يلحق الضرر بنحو 17 طالبًا. والمدرسة الآن معرضة لخطر وشيك بهدمها. ويقوض هدم المدرسة حق الطلبة في التعليم. 
  • أصاب المستوطنون الإسرائيليون ثلاثة فلسطينيين بجروح وألحق اشخاص يعرف عنهم أو يعتقد بأنهم مستوطنون إسرائيليون الأضرار بممتلكات الفلسطينيين في 15 حادثًا. ففي حادثين قرب خشم الدرج (الخليل) وحوارة (نابلس)، أصيب فلسطينيان، أحدهما فتى يبلغ من العمر 16 عامًا، عندما هاجمهما المستوطنون الإسرائيليون بالحجارة واعتدوا جسديًا عليهما، كما ألحقوا الأضرار بثلاث مركبات. وقرب مدخل عزبة الطبيب (قلقيلية)، أصيب رجل فلسطيني بجروح عندما دعس مستوطن بمركبته مجموعة من الفلسطينيين خلال مظاهرة مناهضة للاستيطان. وفي خمسة حوادث منفصلة، اقتلع نحو 500 شجرة يملكها الفلسطينيون أو أتلفت اقرب المستوطنات الإسرائيلية المجاورة لقريوت (نابلس) والخضر (بيت لحم) ومركز المعرجات (رام الله) والجوايا (الخليل). وفي ثلاث حوادث قرب حوارة وعوريف (وكلاهما في نابلس) وفي المنطقة الخاضعة للسيطرة الإسرائيلية في مدينة الخليل، أعطبت ثلاث سيارات يملكها فلسطينيون، وتسبب إلقاء الحجارة في إلحاق الأضرار بمنزلين فلسطينيين حسبما أفادت التقارير. وأسفرت سبعة حوادث في نابلس ورام وسلفيت وبيت لحم وطوباس عن إلحاق الأضرار بمحاصيل زراعية ومواشٍ ومعدات زراعية وشبكة مياه وخزان ماء. 
  • أصيب ثمانية إسرائيليين بجروح على يد رجل فلسطيني أطلق النار على حافلة ومركبة خاصة إسرائيليتين قرب البلدة القديمة في القدس في 14 آب/أغسطس. وبعد هذا الهجوم، نفذت القوات الإسرائيلية عمليات تفتيش في حي سلوان المجاور، وسلم المشتبه به نفسه فيما بعد للشرطة الإسرائيلية. وفي 15 حادثًا آخر، أصاب أشخاص يعرف عنهم أو يعتقد بأنهم فلسطينيون تسعة مستوطنين إسرائيليين بجروح وألحقوا الأضرار بخمس عشرة مركبات إسرائيلية في ثلاثة حوادث شهدت إلقاء الحجارة على المركبات التي كانت تسير على طرق الضفة الغربية قرب محافظات الخليل ونابلس ورام الله، وفقًا للمصادر الإسرائيلية.  
  • في 9 آب/أغسطس، وعقب وقف إطلاق النار بين إسرائيل والجماعات المسلحة الفلسطينية في قطاع غزة، أزالت السلطات الإسرائيلية جميع القيود التي كانت قد فرضتها على المعابر مع غزة منذ 2 آب/أغسطس، مما سمح بحركة الأشخاص المصرح لهم ونقل السلع، بما فيها الوقود. وفي 8 آب/أغسطس، استأنفت محطة غزة لتوليد الكهرباء عملها بعدما اضطرت إلى الإغلاق في 6 آب/أغسطس (12:00 ظهرًا) بسبب نقص الوقود، مما تسبب في انقطاع الكهرباء بصورة متواصلة لمدة تزيد عن 20 ساعة في اليوم. وأتاح ذلك توفير إمدادات الكهرباء لنحو 11 ساعة في اليوم.

 

يعكس هذا التقرير المعلومات المتاحة حتى وقت نشره. تتوفر أحدث البيانات والمزيد من التفاصيل على ochaopt.org/data

41 عدد القتلى الفلسطينيين على يد القوات الإسرائيلية
2022
    72|35
2021
78 263
2020
    24 | 6
  • الضفة الغربية
  • قطاع غزة
729 عدد الجرحى الفلسطينيين على يد القوات الإسرائيلية
2022
6,717 377
2021
15,525 2,367
2020
    2,558 | 56
  • الضفة الغربية
  • قطاع غزة
0 عدد القتلى الاسرائيليين على يد فلسطينيين
2022
2 9
2021
3 11
2020
    2 | 1
  • الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة
  • إسرائيل
64 عدد الجرحى الإسرائيليين على يد فلسطينيين
2022
    117|72
2021
175 722
2020
    93 | 18
  • الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة
  • إسرائيل

 

55 عدد المباني الفلسطينية التي تمّ هدمها
2022
402 92 21
2021
718 176 8
2020
671 175 8
  • المنطقة ج
  • القدس الشرقية
  • المنطقة أ & ب
70 عدد الفلسطينيون الذين هجروا
2022
329 223 90
2021
836 343 24
2020
577 391 33
  • المنطقة ج
  • القدس الشرقية
  • المنطقة أ & ب
18 عدد الحوادث المتصلة بالمستوطنين في الضفة الغربية (بما فيها القدس الشرقية)
2022
314 84
2021
370 126
2020
274 84
  • الحوادث التي أدت الى وقوع أضرار بالممتلكات
  • الحوادث التي أدت الى وقوع إصابات
141 عملية بحث واعتقال نفذتها القوات الإسرائيلية في الضفة الغربية
2022
2,128
2021
3,451 0
2020
3,636 0
    0 عدد التوغلات عسكرية اسرائيلية في غزة
    2022
        23
    2021
    50 0
    2020
    68 0
      11,957 عدد المغادرين والقادمين عبر معبر رفح
      2022
      72,651 70,600
      2021
      78,738 15,770
      2020
          26,041 | 25,757
      • الى غزة
      • خارج غزة
      1,879 شاحنة دخلت قطاع غزة
      2022
      13,566 28,035
      2021
      27,377 61,693
      2020
      45,359 60,306
      • مواد بناء
      • اَخر
      78 شاحنة غادرت قطاع غزة
      2022
      2,162 569
      2021
      2,281 1,625
      2020
      2,153 1,111
      • الضفة الغربية
      • الى مكان اَخر

Protection of Civilians Report | 2-15 August 2022 | United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs - occupied Palestinian territory

Protection of Civilians Report | 2-15 August 2022

Latest Development (outside the reporting period)

  • On 18 and 19 August, two Palestinian men were shot and killed in two separate incidents in Nablus city and Tubas. Both incidents will be addressed in the next reporting period.

  • On 18 August, Israeli forces raided and closed the offices of seven Palestinian civil society non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in the West Bank. In 2021, the Government of Israel had designated these organizations as “terrorist organizations” and/or “unlawful”. See the statement by UN agencies and the Association of International Development Agencies here.

Highlights from the reporting period

  • Details of the 5-7 August escalation of hostilities in Gaza and Israel are available in Flash Update #1 and #2. During the escalation, 49 Palestinians were killed in the Gaza Strip, of whom at least 22 were civilians, including 17 children and four women, according to OHCHR; 360 others were injured, including 151 children, 58 women, according to the local Ministry of Health. According to the Israeli authorities, a total of 70 Israelis were injured. Magen David Adom reported that 47 Israelis were evacuated by the organization to hospitals. Three people were injured from shrapnel, 31 people were injured while running to shelters, and 13 from shock.
  • On 2 August, Israeli forces shot and killed a 17-year-old Palestinian boy, claimed by Islamic Jihad (PIJ) to be an affiliate, and injured two in a raid on Jenin refugee camp where they arrested two Palestinian men, including a senior PIJ operative. Over the course of the operation, an exchange of fire with armed Palestinians was reported, and Israeli forces shot live ammunition at residents who threw stones and Molotov cocktails. Later that day, the Israeli authorities imposed a complete closure on their border with Gaza, preventing the movement of people and essential commodities in and out, citing security concerns. On 5 August, Israeli forces conducted a targeted airstrike, killing a senior PIJ operative in Gaza. Israeli airstrikes and the indiscriminate rocket fire into Israel by armed Palestinian groups ensued and continued until a ceasefire came into effect at 23:30 on 7 August. 
  • Three Palestinians, including a 16-year-old boy, were shot, and killed, and 89 others were injured, including 76 with live ammunition, by Israeli forces during a military operation in Nablus. On 9 August, Israeli forces raided the Old City of Nablus, surrounding and firing explosive projectiles at a residential building where two men (24 and 27 years old) had barricaded themselves. The men were killed, and two homes were destroyed and another was damaged, resulting in the displacement of two people, and affecting five others. The operation lasted for more than three hours, during which confrontations took place between Palestinian residents and Israeli forces in other locations in Nablus city; these resulted in the injury of 89 Palestinians, including 76 injuries by live ammunition. One of those injured by live ammunition, a 16-year-old boy, succumbed to his wounds in a Nablus hospital later that day. 
  • Another 16-year-old Palestinian boy was killed and 110 injured, 14 by live ammunition, when Israeli forces shot live ammunition and Palestinians threw stones during demonstrations across the West Bank to protest the military operation in Nablus. On 9 August, Palestinians threw stones near a military checkpoint in Hebron city and Israeli forces fired live ammunition at them, killing a 16-year-old boy. According to eyewitnesses, the boy was far away from the checkpoint and was therefore unlikely to have posed any threat. This brings to 20 the total number of Palestinian children killed in the West Bank since the beginning of 2022, 18 of whom were killed by Israeli forces, compared with 17 children killed during the whole of 2021. On 11 August,  the UN Human Rights Chief Michelle Bachelet expressed alarm at the high number of Palestinian children killed and injured in the occupied Palestinian territory so far this year. 
  • A Palestinian man was shot and killed, and four others were injured with live ammunition by Israeli forces in search-and-arrest operations across the West Bank. On 16 August, a 21-year-old Palestinian man was shot and killed by Israeli Border Police at his home in the East Jerusalem neighborhood of Kafr 'Aqab. Israeli forces raided the house and shot the man in the head from close range, in front of his family, as he was standing inside the house. According to Israeli media citing Israeli forces, the man was shot while attempting to stab police officers, a version of the events rejected by the man’s family. His body has been withheld by the Israeli authorities. The UN Special Coordinator has called for an investigation regarding the disputed circumstances of the killing. During the reporting period, Israeli forces conducted a total of 141 search-and-arrest operations and arrested 204 Palestinians in the West Bank. The Hebron governorate accounted for the highest portion of operations (44) and arrests (70). During three of these operations, Palestinians threw stones and Israeli forces employed live ammunition, and sound grenades, resulting in five Palestinian injuries, including four by live ammunition.
  • In total, 369 Palestinians, including at least 42 children were injured by Israeli forces across the West Bank, representing a 180 per cent increase compared with the previous reporting period. Most of the injuries (162) were recorded near Beit Dajan (Nablus), and Kafr Qaddum (Qalqilya) in anti-settlement protests. And another (110) injuries were reported near Beit El checkpoint (Ramallah), at the entrance of Jericho city, at Huwwara checkpoint (Nablus) and at the entrances to Tulkarm, Hebron and Bethlehem cities in demonstrations protesting the military operation in Nablus. Another 95 Palestinians were injured during a military operation and three search-and-arrest operation (see above). Two additional injuries were reported during a demolition in Silwan in East Jerusalem. Of the 369 Palestinians injured, approximately 25 per cent were from live ammunition. This reflects a 20 percentage points above the proportion of live ammunition injuries reported between January and July 2022. Firearms should be used as a last resort, only where there is an imminent threat to life or of serious injury. The high number of deaths and serious injuries caused by live ammunition/firearms – as described above – raises concern about the possible use of excessive force that may have led to unlawful killings and injuries.
  • The Israeli authorities demolished, confiscated, or forced people to demolish 50 Palestinian-owned structures in East Jerusalem and Area C of the West Bank, citing the lack of Israeli-issued building permits; twelve of the structures were donor-funded humanitarian assistance projects. As a result, 55 people, including 28 children, were displaced, and the livelihoods of approximately 220 others were affected. Forty-two of the structures were in Area C, including 13 demolished in two Bedouin communities (Abu Shusheh and Az Za’ayyem) in Area C of the Jerusalem governorate. One of which is located in an area planned for a major expansion of the Ma’ale Adumim settlement (the ‘E1’ Plan) and are at risk of forcible transfer due to a ‘relocation’ plan advanced by the Israeli authorities. Eight other structures were demolished in East Jerusalem, including three structures destroyed by their owners to avoid paying fines. 
  • On 8 August, Israeli forces raided Rummana (Jenin) village, in Area B, and demolished on punitive grounds two multistory homes of families whose members are indicted of killing three people and injuring three others in Israel in May 2022. The displaced families comprise 13 people, including four children, in three households. Since the beginning of 2022, ten homes were demolished on punitive grounds, compared with three in all of 2021 and six in 2020. Punitive demolitions are a form of collective punishment and as such are illegal under international law as they target the families of perpetrators or alleged perpetrators.
  • Two donor-funded schools are at risk of demolition in southern Hebron and Ramallah. On 3 August, the Israeli civil administration issued a final demolition order against two rooms that are part of a school in Mantiqat Shi’b al Butum, south of Hebron. The school was built in 2015 through a donor-funded project and serves children from a large number of communities. In another incident on 10 August, an Israeli court ordered the immediate demolition of a donor-funded school in the herding community of Ein Samiya, northeast of Ramallah, affecting about 17 students. The school is now at imminent threat of demolition. The demolition of the school jeopardizes the students’ right to education.
  • Israeli settlers injured three Palestinians, and people known or believed to be Israeli settlers damaged Palestinian property, in 15 instances. In two incidents near Khashem ad Daraj (Hebron) and Huwwara (Nablus), two Palestinians, including a 16-year-old boy, were injured when Israeli settlers attacked them with stones and physically assaulted them, also causing damage to three vehicles. Near the entrance of Izbat At Tabib (Qalqilya), one Palestinian man was injured when a settler vehicle drove into a group of Palestinians during an anti-settlement protest. In five separate incidents, about 500 Palestinian-owned trees were uprooted or vandalized near Israeli settlements next to Qaryut (Nablus), Al Khadr (Bethlehem) and Al Mu’arrajat Centre (Ramallah) and Al Jwaya (Hebron). In three incidents near Huwwara and Urif (both in Nablus) and in the H2 area of Hebron city, four Palestinian-owned cars were vandalized and reported stone-throwing damaged two Palestinian homes. Seven incidents in Nablus, Ramallah, Salfit, Bethlehem and Tubas resulted in damage to cultivated crops, livestock, agricultural equipment, a water network and water reservoir. 
  • Eight Israelis were injured by a Palestinian man who opened fired at an Israeli bus and a private vehicle near the Old City of Jerusalem on 14 August. Following the attack, Israeli forces conducted search operations in the nearby neighborhood of Silwan, and the suspect later turned himself in to Israeli police. In another 15 incidents, people known or believed to be Palestinians injured nine Israeli settlers and damaged fifteen Israeli vehicles in stone-throwing incidents at vehicles traveling on West Bank roads near Hebron, Nablus and Ramallah governorates, according to Israeli sources.
  • On 9 August, following the ceasefire between Israel and Palestinian armed groups in the Gaza Strip, the Israeli authorities removed all restrictions imposed on the crossings with Gaza since 2 August, allowing movement of authorized people and commodities, including fuel. On 8 August, the Gaza Power Plant, which had to shut down on 6 August (12:00 pm) due to lack of fuel, causing rolling power cuts of up to 20 hours a day, resumed operations, enabling power supply for about 11 hours per day.

This report reflects information available as of the time of publication. The most updated data and more breakdowns are available at ochaopt.org/data.

 

41 Palestinians killed by Israeli forces
2022
    72|35
2021
78 263
2020
    24 | 6
  • West Bank
  • Gaza Strip

*An additional one Palestinian was killed by either Israeli forces or Israeli settlers in the West Bank.
**An additional 13 Palestinians were killed between 5-7 August by either Israeli forces or Palestinian armed groups in the Gaza Strip. The UN is continuing to verify information related to these deaths.

729 Palestinian injuries by Israeli forces in the oPt
2022
6,717 377
2021
15,525 2,367
2020
    2,558 | 56
  • West Bank
  • Gaza Strip
0 Israelis killed by Palestinians
2022
2 9
2021
3 11
2020
    2 | 1
  • oPt
  • Israel
64 Israelis injured by Palestinians
2022
    117|72
2021
175 722
2020
    93 | 18
  • oPt
  • Israel

***Israeli injuries include those injured during hostilities.

55 Palestinian-owned structures demolished
2022
402 92 21
2021
718 176 8
2020
671 175 8
  • Area C
  • East Jerusalem
  • Areas A & B
70 Palestinians displaced due to demolitions
2022
329 223 90
2021
836 343 24
2020
577 391 33
  • Area C
  • East Jerusalem
  • Areas A & B
18 Attacks by Israeli settlers
against Palestinians in the West Bank
2022
314 84
2021
370 126
2020
274 84
  • Resulting in property damage
  • Resulting in casualties
141 Israeli military search and arrest operations in the West Bank
2022
2,128
2021
3,451 0
2020
3,636 0
    0 Israeli military incursions into Gaza
    2022
        23
    2021
    50 0
    2020
    68 0
      11,957 crossings of people through Rafah
      2022
      72,651 70,600
      2021
      78,738 15,770
      2020
          26,041 | 25,757
      • Into Gaza
      • Out of Gaza
      1,879 truckloads entering Gaza
      2022
      13,566 28,035
      2021
      27,377 61,693
      2020
      45,359 60,306
      • Construction materials
      • Others
      78 truckloads leaving Gaza
      2022
      2,162 569
      2021
      2,281 1,625
      2020
      2,153 1,111
      • To the West Bank
      • Elsewhere