إعادة توصيل خطوط المياه، إعادة بناء حياة السكان | مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الانسانية - الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة
توفير الكلور الذي يُستخدم في التعقيم لمعالجة بئر مياه في شمال غزة. تصوير جمعية اصدقاء البيئة الفلسطينية/2021

إعادة توصيل خطوط المياه، إعادة بناء حياة السكان

قصة نجاح سجلها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

تستطيع بسمة وأسرتها أن يتنفسوا الآن. فما عادوا يتعرضون لرائحة مياه الصرف الصحي التي لا تطاق أمام منزلهم. وبالمثل، ما عادت الأسرة تكافح في سبيل الحصول على مياه الشرب المأمونة.

وتعيش الأسرة في بيت لاهيا بقطاع غزة، حيث تدهور حالها تدهورًا كبيرًا خلال الأعمال القتالية التي شهدت التصعيد على مدى 11 يومًا في أيار/مايو 2021. فعدا عن الوفيات والإصابات، ألحق القتال أضرارًا فادحة بالبنية التحتية المدنية، بما فيها شبكات المياه والصرف الصحي.

وتستذكر بسمة: «كانت تلك أيامًا مرعبة، وخاصة اليوم الذي كان القصف فيه كثيفًا في منطقتنا. كنا خائفين. وفي اليوم التالي، وجدنا أن القصف قد دمر معظم البنية التحتية في منطقتنا.»

ولم يتمكن أكثر من 1.2 مليون فلسطيني من الحصول على خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية بسبب الأضرار التي أصابت البنية التحتية خلال حالة التصعيد في أيار/مايو 2021. وتستطرد بسمة: «تراكمت مياه الصرف الصحي بجوارنا. وقد سبّب الضرر الذي حلّ بالشبكة ذلك. فسممت الهواء الذي نتنفسه وجذبت البعوض. كان الوضع مريعًا.»

وحتى قبل اندلاع القتال، كان أكثر من 97 بالمائة من الحوض المائي الساحلي، وهو مصدر المياه الجوفية في غزة، غير صالح للاستهلاك الآدمي بسبب عمليات الضخ غير المأمونة وتلوثه بمياه الصرف الصحي. وتتذكر بسمة: «كنا نكافح في كل يوم لتأمين المياه للأغراض المنزلية. وفي مرات كثيرة، كنا نُضطر لشراء المياه المكلفة لأغراض الشرب والاغتسال والتنظيف،» في إشارة إلى المياه المعبأة في زجاجات أو المنقولة بالصهاريج، والتي يُلجأ إليه غالبًا عند انعدام توفر المياه المنقولة بالأنابيب أو تجنبها لأنها غير مأمونة. «لقد أثقلت كاهلنا ماليًا وجسديًا.»

وبعد وقف إطلاق النار مباشرة، وبدعم من الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة. كانت منظمة أوكسفام وشركاؤها يسابقون الزمن لإصلاح الشبكات لكي يتمكن الناس من الحصول على المياه المأمونة والوقاية من المكاره التي تسببها مياه الصرف الصحي. وأشارت المنظمة إلى أن الفلسطينيين في غزة أعربوا عن مخاوفهم إزاء التبعات الصحية لنقص المياه، وخاصة خلال جائحة كورونا.

وبعد فترة وجيزة، تم تركيب الأنابيب والتمديدات والمناهل الإسمنتية الجديدة والبلاط في مناطق متعددة من قطاع غزة الذي مزقته الحرب. وتعبر بسمة عن امتنانها: «شعرنا بالارتياح منذ اللحظة التي رأينا فيها الآليات تباشر العمل على إصلاح الشبكات. لقد أُنقذنا أخيرًا. وما عدت أقلق من أن تصيب الأمراض أحفادي بسبب مياه الصرف الصحي.»

توفير الكلور الذي يُستخدم في التعقيم لمعالجة بئر مياه في شمال غزة. تصوير جمعية اصدقاء البيئة الفلسطينية/2021
توفير الكلور الذي يُستخدم في التعقيم لمعالجة بئر مياه في شمال غزة. تصوير جمعية اصدقاء البيئة الفلسطينية/2021

وبعد ذلك، تم توفير محاليل الكلور على مدى شهرين لتعقيم المياه في 286 بئرًا تخدم أكثر من 400,000 شخص. وتختتم بسمة قولها: «لا أحتاج حتى إلى تشغيل مضخة المياه، مما يوفر الكثير من فاتورة الكهرباء.» 

* غُير اسم بسمة لضمان احترام خصوصيتها.

Reconnecting water, restoring lives | United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs - occupied Palestinian territory
The rehabilitation of water and sewage networks in Beit Lahia, the Gaza Strip. Photo by Palestinian Environment Friends/2021

Reconnecting water, restoring lives

An occupied Palestinian territory Humanitarian Fund success story

Basma and her family can breathe now; they are no longer exposed to the unbearable smell of sewage accumulating in front of their home. Similarly, they no longer struggle to access safe drinking water.

They live in Beit Lahia, in the Gaza Strip, where their situation deteriorated significanlty during the 11 days of escalated hostilities, in May 2021. Beyond deaths and injuries, the fighting severely damaged civilian infrustructure, including water and sewage networks.

“These were dreadful days,” Basma recalls, “especially the day where bombing was particularly heavy in our area. We were frightened. The next day, we found that the bombing had destroyed most infrastructure in our neighborhood.”

More than 1.2 million Palestinians have had their access to water, sanitation and hygiene services constrained due to infrastructure damage during the May 2021 escalation. “Sewage accumulated next door,” Basma continued. “It was caused by damage to the network. It poisoned the air that we breathe and attracted mosquitoes; it was awful.”

Even before the fighting, more than 97 per cent of the coastal aquifer, Gaza’s underground water source, was deemed unfit for human consumption due to unsafe pumping and wastewater contamination. “We struggled daily to secure domestic water,” Basma recalls. “Many times, we had to buy expensive water for drinking, washing and cleaning,” she adds, aluding to bottled or tankered water often availed of when piped water is unavailable or to avoid it because it is unsafe. “It overwhelmed us financially and physically.”

Immediately after the ceasefire, with support from the occupied Palestinian territory Humanitarian Fund (oPt HF), Oxfam and its partners were racing against time to fix networks, so that people can access safe water and to prevent sewage hazards. Oxfam indicated that Palestinians in Gaza had expressed their concerns about the health consequences of water shortages, especially during COVID-19.

Shortly thereafter, new pipes, fittings, concrete maintenance holes, and tiles were installed in multiple areas of the war-torn Gaza strip. Basma expressed her gratification: “The moment we saw that the machinery starting fixing the networks, we were relived; we were finally rescued. I no longer worry that my grandchildren would catch diseases because of the sewage.”

Chlorine provision to a water well in northern Gaza, used to for disinfection. Photo by Palestinian Environment Friends/2021
Chlorine provision to a water well in northern Gaza, used to for disinfection. Photo by Palestinian Environment Friends/2021

Additionally, chlorine solutions were provided for two months to disinfect the water of 286 wells serving more than 400,000 people. “The water supply is much better than before the destruction,” Basma concludes. “I don’t need even to run the water pump, which saves a lot on the electricity bill.”

* Basma’s name has been changed to protect her privacy.